The Bekwai Municipal Assembly (BMA) on Friday, 23rd September, 2022 elected its Presiding Member (PM) after a third consecutive meeting. Both candidates, Gabriel Twumasi-Ankrah, the Assembly Member for Senfi Electoral Area, and Maxwell Bioh, who is also the Assembly Member for Kwamang Abesewa Electoral Area in the first round failed to acquire the constitutional two thirds votes needed.

Hon. Gabriel Twumasi-Ankrah polled 29 votes of the total votes cast, representing 63 percent of the total valid votes cast and Hon. Maxwell Bioh also polled 17 votes of the total votes, representing 37 percent. The Electoral Commission conducted a second round of voting at the end of which Hon. Gabriel Twumasi-Ankrah secured 41 votes while Hon. Maxwell Bioh also obtained 6 votes of the total votes cast.

Hon. Gabriel Twumasi-Ankrah upon securing two-thirds of the total valid votes was subsequently sworn in as the Presiding Member of the Assembly.

The new PM thanked the honourable members for the confidence bestowed in him while he assured them of effective collaboration between him, the Assembly Members and the Central Administration of the Assembly to ensure that developmental projects are shared equitably among the electoral areas that constitute the Assembly.

Thirty-two (32) Assembly members, fifteen (15) government appointees and the Municipal Chief Executive, totalling forty-eight (48) members voted.

Share Everywhere