Bekwai Municipal Assembly (BMA) failed to elect Presiding Member (PM) on Thursday, 23rd June 2022. The election was between two candidates: Hon. Kwame Opoku Agyemang who is elected member for Dadease electoral area and Hon. Kofi Asante Bruce, who is a former Assembly Member for Sanfo-Aduam electoral area.

At the end of the first round of voting in the fiercely contested election, Hon. Kwame Agyemang obtained 19 votes of the total valid votes cast while Hon. Kofi Asante Bruce also secured 31 votes. As per the standing orders of the house and the dictates of the law of decentralization, one must win the election for a Presiding Member with 2/3 majority of votes cast but none of the two candidates were able to obtain the number.

The electoral commission conducted a second round of voting, at the end of the voting, Hon. Kwame Opoku Agyemang polled 26 votes of the total votes cast while Hon. Kofi Asante Bruce also polled 24 votes of the total votes cast.

The process of the election was generally peaceful except that some of the Assembly members were somehow disappointed after the second round of voting.

The election was supervised by the Assistant Municipal Electoral Officer, Mr. Benimba and his National Service Personnels.

During the same day, ten (10) new government appointees were sworn in to replace the ten members who are unable to continue serving the Assembly.


Share Everywhere